I'll start by apologizing for the lack of a true recap of this weekend's action.  It was almost done when I went to copy something into the blog and it magically crashed and deleted my entire post.

I was going to put this on to the end of the recap, but instead I'll write a dedicated post on the blow to the head penalty.

At 8:33 of the third period, Marc-Andre Carre received a blow to the head penalty (2 minutes, 10 misconduct).  My issue is not with him receiving a penalty on the play as I said on my broadcast I felt he could have earned a charging call.  Both Josh Lewis (my colour commentator on the evening) and I felt principle point of contact was the body, though the head was contacted later in the collision and impacted the glass.  

Here's the rule as stated in Section 1 of the Jr. A Supplement:


The following situations shall be subject to suspension:

1.1 Illegal Act: If a player is fouled or hit illegally, for which a penalty is being assessed, and as a result hits his head on the glass, ice or the boards and is injured, this shall be construed as a Blow to the Head and a major and game misconduct or match penalty shall be assessed.

• Major Penalty – minimum 2 game suspension.

• Match Penalty – minimum 3 game suspension.

1.2 Direct Blow to the Head: If a player raises his stick, hands, forearm or elbow to hit an opponent in the head area, or deliberately drives his stick, forearm, elbow or gloved hand into the player’s head in any manner, it shall be called a Blow to the Head and shall receive a minor and 10 minute misconduct, or a major and game misconduct, or match penalty.

• Minor Penalties – a player upon receiving his 3rd minor penalty for hit to the head shall result in a 2 game suspension and a 2 game suspension for each subsequent minor in the same season.

• Major Penalty – automatic minimum 2 game suspension.

• Match Penalty – automatic minimum 3 game suspension.Junior A Supplement – Players Handbook Page 8

You'll notice that the hit doesn't really fit into either of these descriptions.  Sure it could slide into the the Illegal Act section, but that's reserved for injuries and the Bruins player wasn't injured on the play.  It also wasn't a direct blow to the head based on the lack of 'shoulder' in the wording.  I mention that because it would be entirely possible for the referee to see the play differently than I did and deem the head the principle point of contact.  So how does it become a penalty?
Source: HockeyCanada.ca