The SJHL has announced the Regular Season Award Winners.

I'll run through the Ice Wolves winners here and post the link to the rest of them as well.

{EDIT} Audio from Ice Wolves' Head Coach Bob Beatty included with each award.

Leo Parker Award (Top Scorer) and SJHL Player of the Year

Travis Eggum

The award caps off a fantastic regular season for Eggum.  He was the first player in about 20 years to lead the league in goal scoring and put up a goal per game.  His 106 points on the year put him in a tie with Marc-Andre Carre for the franchise record for points in a single season.  His 58 goals could stand for a long time as the franchise record in that department.

Click Here for Bob Beatty's reaction to Eggum being named Player of the Year.

E.E. Henning Award for the League's Most Valuable Player

Marc-Andre Carre

Along with Doug Lindensmith, this trio strikes fear into the hearts of defences all over the league.  They combined for an astounding 310 points on the season and a major part of that was the deadly skill of Carre.  He led the league in with an excellent 1.93 points per game, was fourth in the league for goals (39) and second in assists (67).  That assist mark set the Ice Wolves' single season assist record.  The best news for the Ice Wolves is he could return next season.

Click Here for Bob Beatty's reaction to Carre being named MVP.

Coach of the Year Award Finalist 
Winner announced at a later date

Bob Beatty

As one of the three finalists for the Coach of the Year, Beatty stands a pretty good chance of winning for the second year in a row.  Many expected the Ice Wolves to finish the regular season fighting for a playoff spot.  Instead, Beatty turned the Ice Wolves into an RBC Cup contender as the Wolves broke franchise records left, right and centre and captured their first SJHL regular season points title.

Click Here for Bob Beatty's reaction to being  a finalist for Coach of the Year.

First Team All-Star Selections

Marc-Andre Carre and Travis Eggum

Second Team All-Star Selections

Doug Lindensmith
Here's the link to the winners from around the league.

Congratulations to all of the 2010-2011 award winners!

Jerry K.
3/3/2011 05:41:11

Congratulations to Travis and Marc Andre, along with Lindensmith, what a remarkable year they have had. I think congratulations should also go to Bob Beatty, for putting these three players together. Bob had the foresight to put together 3 relatively different style players and turned them into probably the best line in Jr. A hockey. Congratulations also to the team that won the president's trophy. It's been a tremendous year for La Ronge fans.

Comments are closed.